Viviane Chidid

Viviane Chidid

Singer / Chanteuse

Viviane Chidid is a Senegalese singer of mbalax and R & B. Viviane was born in Mbour, a port town south of Dakar (Senegal), and was born out of a Lebanese, Mauritanian and Wolof mix. It is launched by Aly JABER a friend of Philippe Chidid (Father of Viviane) and begins to perform in hotels with friends artists. It is now known in the black diaspora of the world’s major capitals. Viviane is a super star in Senegal as well as Youssou N’Dour or Akon. She is also known as the queen of Mbalax RNB.

His debut with the “Super Star”

From 1993 she became a chorister in the group of Youssou N’Dour, the “Super Star of Dakar”. A few years later, she married Bouba N’Dour, the brother of Youssou Ndour, who became his own manager (after a separation in 2007 the couple remarried in 2010 and then re-divorced in 2011).

Viviane gained an international notoriety with Youssou N’Dour, notably by interpreting sometimes with him in public concerts his success with Neneh Cherry, Seven Seconds.

First albums

The title Sama Nene of his first solo album “Entre Nous” released in 1999 immediately won a great success in Senegal and thanks to a style considered innovative it quickly becomes very popular.

In 2000 Viviane released her second album, Nature, which confirmed her talent in Senegalese music, much appreciated by Senegalese purists. It is now one of the most beautiful voices in the country.

Creation of the “Djolof Band”

Viviane takes a little distance with his mentor Youssou N’Dour, to create in 2001 his own group baptized the “Djolof Band”, but nevertheless remains chorister of the Super Star on the occasion of the great balls organized by the latter. The same year Viviane released “Le Show”, a live album made with her band. Today she is also nicknamed the Queen of the Djolof Band.

Kora Awards 2002

She released her fourth album entitled “Téré Nelaw”. They are songs to the praise of the “Lions of the Teranga” highlighting their achievements during the 2002 World Cup in Korea. All of Africa falls under the charm of the singer which earned him in 2002 a nomination to the “Kora Awards” in the category best arrangement.

She is however attacked for the plagiarism of the title Sammina of Elhage Faye. She loses the trial, and must pay the sum of 5 million CFA francs to the interpreter of the song.

New musical style

Composed with the help of the biggest Senegalese rappers like Awadi, Khuman, Carlou D, Pacotille, Foumalade and so many others, “Esprit” will be the most sold rap album in Senegal in history.

(Visited 110 times, 1 visits today)

Videos

Viviane Chidid

Viviane Chidid

Singer / Chanteuse

Viviane Chidid est une chanteuse sénégalaise de mbalax et de R&B. Issue d’un métissage Libanais , Mauritanien et Wolof , Viviane est née à Mbour, ville portuaire au sud de Dakar (Sénégal). Elle est lancée par Aly JABER un ami de Philippe Chidid ( Père de Viviane) et commence à se produire dans les hôtels avec des amis artistes. Elle est dorénavant connue au sein de la diaspora noire des grandes capitales mondiales. Viviane est une super star au Sénégal au même titre que Youssou N’dour ou Akon. Elle est aussi connue sous le nom de la reine du Mbalax RNB.

Ses débuts avec le « Super Étoile »

À partir de 1993 elle devient choriste dans le groupe de Youssou N’Dour, le « Super Étoile de Dakar ». Quelques années plus tard, elle épouse Bouba N’Dour, le frère de Youssou Ndour, qui deviendra son propre manager (après une séparation en 2007 le couple s’est remarié en 2010, puis re-divorcé en 2011).

Viviane gagne une notoriété internationale auprès de Youssou N’Dour, notamment en interprétant parfois avec lui lors de concerts publics son succès avec Neneh Cherry, Seven Seconds.

Premiers albums

Le titre Sama Nene de son premier album en solo “Entre Nous” sorti en 1999 remporte d’emblée un grand succès au Sénégal et grâce à un style jugé novateur elle devient rapidement très populaire.

En 2000 Viviane sort son deuxième album, Nature, qui confirme son talent dans la musique sénégalaise, très appréciée des puristes sénégalais. Elle fait désormais partie des plus belles voix du pays.

Création du « Djolof Band »

Viviane prend un peu de distance avec son mentor Youssou N’Dour, pour créer en 2001 son propre groupe  baptisé le « Djolof Band », mais reste cependant choriste du Super Étoile à l’occasion des grands bals organisés par ce dernier. La même année Viviane sort “Le Show”, un album live réalisé avec son groupe. Aujourd’hui elle est également surnommée la Reine du Djolof Band.

Kora Awards 2002

Elle sort son quatrième album intitulé “Téré Nelaw”. Ce sont des chants à la louange des « Lions de la Teranga » mettant en avant leurs exploits durant la coupe du monde de football 2002 en Corée. Toute l’Afrique tombe sous le charme de la chanteuse ce qui lui vaut en 2002 une nomination aux « Kora Awards » dans la catégorie meilleur arrangement.

Elle est cependant attaquée en justice pour le plagiat du titre Sammina de Elhage Faye. Elle perd le procès, et doit verser la somme de 5 millions de francs CFA à l’interprète de la chanson.

Nouveau style musical

Composé avec l’aide des plus grands rappeurs sénégalais comme Awadi, Khuman, Carlou D, Pacotille, Foumalade et tant d’autres, “Esprit” sera l’album de rap le plus vendu au Sénégal dans l’histoire.

(Visited 97 times, 1 visits today)

Vidéos